ValleyFeverSurvivor.com
Valley Fever Message Board
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile      Homepagevfs Homepage   Log inLog in 

Valley Fever Survivor at Facebook  Valley Fever Survivor's Twitter updates  Valley Fever Survivor's YouTube Channel  The RSS feed for Valley Fever Survivor's updates
My Sparky

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    valleyfeversurvivor.com Forum Index -> Pet Owner Stories and Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
vsparky

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2009 9:10 pm    Post subject: My Sparky Reply with quote

I'm new to all this but am learning. It all started with Sparky was having kidney problems. He peed ALOT and drank ALOT too, he had an issue with the Menu foods recall and was poisoned by Nutro- which I feel a lot of guilt about because he quit wanting to eat his canned food and I started adding chicken and tuna to it to get him to eat it...I was force feeding my dog poison.

Anyway, that's how we discovered he had VF 1:32 and tick fever, through the tests they did when his kidneys started to fail while eating the melamine. As soon as I stopped feeding it to him, his liquid input and
output returned to normal. I gave him fluconazole and doxycycline (for
the tick fever) for 2 months he seemed fine (I was very uneducated
then) so for about a year and a half he didn't take any meds.

About 4 1/2 months ago he had a seizure going down the stairs to go out
(we live on the 3rd floor in condo). I immediately called the vet who
couldn't see him until the next afternoon. Well he had another in the
morning and another right before we left to go to the vet. He seemed
to be getting weaker after each one to the point at the vets office he
couldn't really get up on his own and walked very staggered and kept
falling down. The vet put him on Phenobarbital 60mg 2x a day and
started fluconazole 200mg 2x a day.